Annual Award Instituted for professional excellence

  • DEC 17, 2010

North East Young Manager’s Competition 2009-10

Date : 6th February , 2010
Venue : Hotel Orchid , Guwahati
Participants :30
Theme: Managing India : Turning the Dream in to reality “.

In recognition of Manager’s performance excellence, this is a flagship event of GMA to young talents to continuously improve their managerial skill to help corporate and non corporate entitles to function well in the area of corporate Governance.The chairman of the Jury was Dr. N.K. Choudhury , Former Vice-Chancellor of Gauhati University , other members were –Mr. D.N. Barua, President –GMA and Dr. T.K.Bharali , Dean of Darwin School of Business.

1st winners Mrs Chandrima Sarma (Corporate Communication) Guwahati Refinery (IOC)
1st Runners up : Mr.O.P. Chetry, Power and Utilities Manager-IOC (AOD) , Digboi , Assam 
Joint Runners up : Ms. Barnali Sarma , Sr. Manager-reliance Telecom Ltd. Guwahati and 
Mr. P.K . Goswami , Dy . Chief Engineer(Production ) oil India Ltd., Duliajan .

Comment of the jury after the competition was that the standard of presentation of the participants were very high . 

The Competition was so closed that it was very different to choose the best competitor as per the remarks of the Chairman of the Jury. Mr. P.K. Barthakur V.P.-GMA was responsible for organizing committee.

Award Ceremony  of the  Competition was held on 14th June 2010. At Assam State Museum Auditorium. Sri Bhubaneswar Kalita- M.P. was the Chief Guest on the Ceremony.

Guwahati Management Association organized a day long workshop on “ What employees should know about Labour Laws” at Hotel Rajmahal. A.T. Road,  Guwahati on 10.04.2010 from 9.30 a.m. About 40 participants from different corporates and organization participated in the workshop the following subjects were discussed .  employees provident fudn and misc. provision act 1952 , payment of wages act 1972, minimum wage Act, Industrial Emplacement standing order , Trade Union , Industrial dispute Act , Ssick Industries with relation to Industrial dispute Act , Employees State Insurance  Act , Gratuity Act, Collective bargaining  payment of Bonus Act etc. The following resources  persons delivered lecturers and interact on different subject .

They  are  Advocate  Mr.  T.  R.  Sarma  ,  Ex-Labour Commissioner Mr. S.S. Hujai , Sr.  Faculty of Assam Institute of Management  Mr.  Zamal  Hussain ,  Principal  NERIM  Law College Mr.  A.K. Singha, Dy  . Supdt . ESIC Mr.  Pradip Sutradhar , Sr. Manager  IOC Mr.  Sambhu Chakravorty ,  Administrative   officer,  NERIM  Mr.  Swapanjyoti Sarma  and  Sr. Advocate Mr.  P.C. Deka.

It was also addressed by Mr. H.N. Das , IAS(Retd) Ex- Chief Secretary , govt of Assam , Mr. S.K. hazarika , Director –Assam Institute of Management .
Mr.  D.N. Baruah, President –GMA Mr. B.K. Duari ,  Director –GMA ,  Mr.  S.B.  Sarmah , Hon .  General Secretary –GMA offered vote of thanks.